Respine HK

WhatsApp:
+852 9168-2577

Tel:
+852 3751-7753

脊柱側彎治療
了解類型及症狀

脊柱側彎治療

What is Scoliosis?

Scoliosis is a condition characterized by lateral curvatures of the spine that results in spiral or rotational deformities. The curvatures are usually “C” or “S” shaped over three dimensions and the thoracic spine usually compensates by the reposition of the rib cage. Scoliosis not only affects the aesthetics of the patient but potentially disrupts cardiovascular and respiratory function.

Types of Scoliosis

Can be categorized into two types; congenital and secondary

Congenital

Congenital scoliosis accounts for approximately 80% of the general scoliosis database, mostly genetic and inherited conditions. Due to its congenital nature, if either parent has scoliosis, the risk of inheritance increases. Signs of scoliosis are rarely present prior to puberty, although prognosis dramatically increases when detected early. Screening is recommended starting at the age of 8 with check-ups between 10-15 to ensure normal spinal development. Research have shown that for every 100 adolescent, 2-3 will have signs of scoliosis, females are 8-9 times more likely to develop congenital scoliosis than males.

Secondary

Secondary or neuromuscular scoliosis is usually found post-puberty (although the modern posture is starting to trend in adolescent). The causes of secondary scoliosis range from chronic poor posture, pelvic imbalance, muscular development, leg length differences etc., moderate to severe injuries to the spine or lower extremities have also been found as a contributor.

Symptoms

Depending on severity, patients with scoliosis may suffer from headaches, dizziness, chest tightness, numbness in the upper and lower limbs, soreness and malaise, insomnia etc. The lateral curvature of the spine in the cervical, thoracic or lumbar may cause nerve impingement resulting in other neurological symptoms. In extreme cases, thoracic scoliosis may cause distortion in the rib cage affect the lungs and heart.

Misconception

Scoliosis is a condition that is often misused and misdiagnosed in modern society. The assessment of scoliosis requires a thorough examination and full spine x-ray analysis to determine the severity of the curvature. By definition, the curvature (Cobb’s angle) has to be greater than 10 degrees to be categorized as mild scoliosis. Many healthcare providers would even set the threshold at 15-20 degrees to be considered for medical intervention. Research have shown that non-invasive treatments and therapies are very beneficial in the prognosis of scoliosis under 15 degrees.

Patients with a Cobb’s angle of 20 or above should be fully examined and assessed for an optimal treatment option to prevent further increase. When the Cobb’s angle approaches 30 degrees, more aggressive treatment options should be considered and invasive treatments can be discussed. Progress examination and check-ups are highly recommended at this level to ensure stabilization of the curvature. Lastly, Cobb’s angle of over 40 degrees is considered severe. Orthopaedic surgeons should be consulted and invasive or more aggressive treatment options are usually recommended. Early detection has the biggest impact on prognosis thus screening is utmost important before and during puberty.

How to self-test?

Research has shown that up to 80% of scoliosis cases are congenital. Adults can perform self-observations to look for signs of potential scoliosis; head tilt, shoulder and pelvic height balance etc. Shoe wear comparison can also signify weight bearing and loading which can indicate pelvic imbalance. Due to the nature of scoliosis development, curvature and structural malformation usually start to appear during childhood and adolescent puberty. Parents can perform Adam’s test at home to screen for potential structural scoliosis. Adam’s test is applied in most primary and secondary school screenings and has an accuracy of up to 80%. With that said, any suspected cases of scoliosis must be referral to a healthcare professional for further examinations for diagnosis.

 

Adam’s test or Forward bend test is performed when the patient is bent forward at the waist while standing, feet together, arms hanging and knees extended. The examiner is standing directly behind the patient looking along the horizontal plane of the spine, checking for spinal asymmetry, unlevel shoulders, scapular asymmetry (humps), unlevel hips etc. A normal spine should look symmetrical on both sides; left and right.

脊柱側彎治療方式

SCOLIOSISThere are four common treatment options for scoliosis, depending on severity and patient condition such as age and other spinal complications. Chiropractic treatment, rehabilitation exercises, scoliosis brace and surgery.

If a patient is suspected of scoliosis, a referral to a healthcare professional is required for a full spine examination. An X-ray of the patient’s spine is typically recommended to allow the practitioner’s detailed analysis. After a full assessment of the patient’s condition and severity, treatment options will be explained accordingly. A mild to moderate curvature can usually be managed by chiropractic care with a combination of rehabilitation exercises. Our goal is to achieve stability in the spinal structure to prevent further development of a lateral curvature. The patient’s centre of gravity and plum loading is essential in structural management of the spine. As the spine progresses with stability, we start to incorporate additional exercises to further strengthen the spine.

In moderate to severe cases, your healthcare provider might discuss options such as scoliosis brace or surgery to improve the prognosis. It is important to note that treatment options hugely depend on the assessment and the severity of the case.

Dr. Lai’s Recommendations:

Scoliosis and other structural problems of the spine are becoming more common as the modern lifestyle changes. We should always practise good posture habitats to prevent chronic changes to the spine. We recommend 30mins. of exercising, three times per week at a minimum to allow adequate movement in the spine. Minimize anterior head carriage or text neck while on mobile phones or computer can contribute to better spinal health.

Lastly, if you suspect a case scoliosis, please seek professional advice and diagnosis. This page is for educational purposes only, it is not intended for self-diagnosis or treatment.

Consultation Hours (By Appointment)
MON & TUES: 10-1PM, 3-7PM
WED & SAT: 10-2PM
THURS & FRI: 10-1PM, 3-7PM
**SUN & PUBLIC HOLIDAYS CLOSED

Phone: +852 3751-7753
WhatsApp: +852 9168-2577
Email Address: info@respine.hk
Address:1305, Capitol Centre, 5-19 Jardine's Bazaar, Causeway Bay, HK

CONTACT US

Respine HK

WhatsApp:
+852 9168-2577

診所電話:
+852 3751-7753

脊柱側彎治療
了解類型及症狀

脊柱側彎治療

什麼是脊柱側彎?

脊柱側彎是指當脊柱結構生長異常,令脊椎出現彎曲或扭曲形狀的病症。當側彎出現時,因脊骨偏側到一邊,脊骨爲了彌補彎曲的部分而把肋骨推向脊椎,令脊骨會呈現”C”型或“S”型。除了影響外觀外,還會有機會影響心肺功能。

脊柱側彎類型

可細分爲先天性及後天性兩大類

先天性

先天性的患者佔80%;而大部分都是遺傳的。若父母自身有脊柱側彎,子女也會有較高的機會遺傳到的。先天性的患者在出生時沒有異樣,一般在發育期約10-15歲開始病發。及早發現問題能儘早控制問題惡化,如及早發現能避免在短時間内迅速令側彎的角度惡化。據研究顯示,每100名的青少年便有2-3名患有不同程度的脊柱側彎。而女性患有嚴重側彎的個案比例比男性高出8-9倍。

後天性

後天性的患者主要的成因並非在於脊柱的結構上出現問題。常見的成因包括姿勢不良,盤骨不平衡,神經肌肉病變,脊椎兩側的肌肉受力不均,雙腳長短不一(長短腳)等因素。當脊椎兩側的肌肉受力不均時,一側的肌肉過度伸展,而另一側的肌肉則過度擠壓, 造成脊椎側彎的情況。

有什麼症狀?

患者有機會出現頭痛,頭暈, 胸悶, 手腳麻痹,酸痛,失眠等症狀。而頸椎,胸椎及腰椎也會因側彎的角度和扭曲度壓迫到神經。較嚴重的患者有機會出現頭部傾斜,肩膀不平衡,肋骨突出等症狀。如側彎的角度過大,更有機會出現呼吸困難,胸廓變形及壓迫心臟及肺部等器官。

誤解

我們常常聽到別人說脊柱側彎的問題。而醫學上對於此病也有分爲不同的等級。一般而言,側彎的度數大於10度才能夠定義爲脊柱側彎。如度數界乎於10-25度只屬於輕微症狀;建議病人先尋找專業醫生建議及先作詳細全脊評估。

當度數在20度以上才算正式進入脊柱側彎,而當度數接近30度時,醫生會建議採用一些比較進取的治療方案。因此度數界乎20-40度則為中等程度;而中等程度的患者需要定期的檢查及復診以確保脊椎的穩定性避免情況惡化。最後,若度數達至40-60度或以上便屬於嚴重的個案, 患者有機會需要接受一些入侵性的治療,例如手術或其他的治療方式。因此定期的脊骨檢查是必須的,因爲當問題及早發現時便可以大大地提升矯正效果,結構上的治療和康復也相對需時較短。

自我檢查

根據研究顯示,近80%的患者均屬於先天性個案。成人可觀察自己頭部有否傾側,兩肩及盤骨是否對稱,以及走路時鞋底的磨蝕程度從而判斷側彎的問題。而小童及青少年的發病比率是最高。不少家長難免會擔心子女會有脊柱側彎的問題出現, 在家中,家長可以透過【亞當前彎】測試為子女作為基本的篩查,這項測試均被常用於小學及中學以評估學童及青少年有否側彎的情況,而篩查的準確性能夠達至80%或以上。

 

首先測試者需保持雙腳直立,然後身體及頭部慢慢向下成彎腰90度角放鬆,雙手下垂並與兩肩一樣寬。這時可以從後觀察測試者背部外觀的對稱情況,包括肩膀,上背部,腰部情況有否出現不對稱;如發現背部一側明顯突出或傾斜,建議尋求醫生的專業咨詢及進行全脊X光診斷評估或進一步的治療。

脊柱側彎治療方式

脊柱側彎治療主要有四種,包括脊骨結構矯正治療,復康運動,佩戴脊骨矯正支架以及手術治療。

如經過醫生的評估及X光診斷後,症狀屬輕微至中等程度的側彎, 患者需要定期復診讓醫生觀察病況以及配合醫生為病人規劃的脊骨矯正治療,目的是爲了穩定脊骨結構避免情況惡化而並不是令脊骨變成書本上的“完美結構”。當醫生為病人評估脊骨結構的進度時,如屬穩定情況,醫生會為病人提供復康運動循序漸進地融入病人的治療過程中,强化周邊軟組織及鞏固結構,令病人擁有長遠的康復。

而視乎情況,一些脊柱側彎的病人可能需要佩戴一些脊骨矯形支架避免問題加劇。而情況嚴重的患者有機會需要接受脊骨手術治療,例如脊柱固定術或在脊柱放骨釘矯正脊骨。

黎醫生的建議

任何人士都有機會患上脊柱側彎的問題,我們可以從日常生活中養成良好的習慣。建議每星期進行三次或以上多於30分鐘的運動以放鬆受壓的肌肉.。另外,日常生活中保持正確的姿勢也是非常重要的,正確的姿勢包括站姿,睡姿,一般坐姿及正確的辦公室坐姿。

如懷疑自己有患有脊柱側彎問題,建議先向醫生咨詢及進行X光診斷檢脊骨結構問題。

診症時間 (敬請預約)
星期一至二: 10-1PM, 3-7PM
星期三及六: 10-2PM
星期四至五: 10-1PM, 3-7PM
**星期日及公眾假期休息

電話:+852 3751-7753
WhatsApp: +852 9168-2577
電郵地址:info@respine.hk
地址:香港銅鑼灣渣甸街5-19號京華中心一期13樓05室

聯絡我們